If you are charged with a DWI conviction in North Carolina, you can check the paperwork given to you by the court to see if you need an ignition interlock device installed. The North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (NCDMV) is your first point of contact, then check with your DWI attorney.
First Time DWI
In North Carolina, your license will be immediately suspended for 30 days. You can apply for a limited driving privilege after 10 days, but you must wait out your full 30-day suspension before driving again. You will then need to install an ignition interlock.
Criminal sanctions for DWI are in addition to administrative actions. There are five levels of DWI penalties if you are convicted by a court or plead guilty to DWI in North Carolina. For a 1st offense, you will be required to complete 24 hours to 60 days in jail and pay a $200 fine. Judges can suspend jail time and order community service after you spend 24 hours in jail, but you must not drive for 30 days.
So you do qualify for an Ignition Interlock Program — now what?
Easy. Just call Monitech at 800-521-4246. One of our Customer Care Experts will be able to tell you the specific requirements for North Carolina and set up an installation appointment at one of our Authorized Service Locations. At Monitech, our primary goal is to help you successfully complete your interlock program safely and quickly.
For more information about Monitech Ignition Interlock Devices, visit our website.